Skip to main content

ICMA Centre set for over 80% qualified HEA academics in the New Year

HEA members collage

The ICMA Centre has seen thirteen of its academics already gain membership of the Higher Education Academy (HEA), and is set for over 80% in total to become members in the New Year.

The HEA works with higher education providers and organisations to improve the professional experience of higher education academics through fellowships, accreditation, awards and professional development provision.

The high number of memberships demonstrates the ICMA Centre’s dedication to providing a high-quality student experience by ensuring that academics are certified in alignment with the UK Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF).

Of the thirteen ICMA Centre academics that have become HEA Fellows or Associate Fellows, one has achieved Senior Fellowship status, indicating a proven and sustained track record in higher education management and leadership.

“The ICMA Centre has always been committed to a student-centred experience,” commented Head of ICMA Centre Professor Adrian Bell, “that is why we have invested in staff development, ensuring that all students receive the highest standard of education from academics who are not only vastly experienced in the industry, but also qualified to teach at a higher education level.”

In order to gain membership, academics can take one of two routes dependent on their level of experience. The APP (Academic Practice Programme) is taken by academics relatively new to teaching, while the CPD (Continuing Professional Development) route using the university’s HEA-accredited FLAIR framework (Facilitating Learning and Teaching Achievement and Individual Recognition) requires experienced academics to be reflective and draft case studies and an activity table on how their practice has developed in their teaching.

Below is a full list of current ICMA Centre academics with HEA membership:

Professor George Alexandridis

Professor of Corporate Finance

Professor Adrian Bell

Research Dean, Prosperity and Resilience

Dr Andreas G. F. Hoepner

Visiting Professor

Dr Konstantina Kappou

Associate Professor of Finance

Professor Emese Lazar

Professor of Finance

Dr Miriam Marra

Associate Professor of Finance

Dr Tony Moore

Lecturer in Finance

Dr Gita Persand

Lecturer in Finance

Professor Simone Varotto

Professor in Finance

Dr Yeqin Zeng

Visiting Fellow
Published 4 January 2016

You might also like

ICMA Centre PhD wins Teaching award for the 2nd year in a row

8 May 2018
Wenyi (Emma) Sun, has been selected by Reading University Students Union (RUSU) for the Graduate Teaching Assistant Excellence Award! This marks the second year in a row where a PhD Student from the ICMA Centre has won the award, with Dina Ghanma winning previously.

Alcohol, tobacco, and gambling: Do “sin stocks” really outperform other publically listed companies? – Award winning paper by ICMA Centre academics

15 September 2015
Award winning research “The Price of Sin Aversion” by ICMA Centre Associate Professor of Finance Andreas Hoepner and co-author Hampus Adamsson has hit the headlines this week, with the Financial Times featuring an article about it in their paper on Monday.
Research news

Industry Insights: Jake King-Smith, Goldman Sachs - Careers in Investment Banking

17 October 2019
The first Industry Insight event of this year was presented by Jake King-Smith and organised by the ICMA Centre in partnership with the University of Reading Finance Society. During the talk, Mr. Smith took us through his career from Merrill Lynch to Goldman Sachs, as well as giving us advice to secure a position in Investment Banking.
Industry Insights reviews